Four Lions (2010)

The reality of suicide bombing is something the world has gotten very familiar with unfortunately. Of course everyone has seen some images related to these bombings. Not a lot of movies are made about the subject (the only one I know about it is Paradise now). If you would have to make a movie about it yourself, you’d probably show the story of what motivates the bomber to do such a thing so you are able to maybe understand it better (for example a specific background that results in a nothing to lose attitude) You probably wouldn’t think of making a comedy about the subject, but that’s exactly what Four Lions is. The result is a really funny comedy.

A couple of British extremists are followed as they are planing an attack. They don’t have an idea yet what they should attack and are constantly arguing about it. When you hear that they are talking about targets as a mosque, the internet or pharmacies, it becomes clear that they aren’t the sharpest tools in the shed. The movie shows how they prepare for their bombing, making the videos where they claim the attack (including bloopers) and the execution of their plan. Everything has so much humour in it that you will be laughing about it, despite the serious subject. The choices they make and the discussions they have are just hilarious.

Just some examples of dialogue:

Barry: What’s with the gun?
Waj: Proper replica man.
Barry: It’s too small man!
Waj: Not too small, brother. Big hands!

Omar: You’re confused bro.
Waj: I’m not confused brother! I just took picture of my face, and it’s deffo not my confused face.

It’s been a while since i laughed so hard when watching a comedy. The dialogues are bizarre and some of the members to stupid to think for themselves. It’s a comedy that I’ll definitely will watch again and I’m adding it to my all time favorite comedies (like Dumb and Dumber and Kung Pow). I really recommend you watch it!

Score: 9

4 thoughts on “Four Lions (2010)

  1. I really wanted to like this film… but sadly a brave film doesn’t necessarily make it a good one.
    Chris Morris’s constant attempts to turn it into a slapstick comedy undermines the important message behind the film and dilutes it all into a superficial exercise.
    Not a disaster, but it could have been so much better…
    Here’s my review: http://wp.me/p19wJ2-aq

    • The thing with comedy is that it’s usually a very personal thing. A friend of mine has completely opposite taste when it comes to comedy in films. If I like it I’m sure that he won’t. Which slapstick things are you talking about? Things like the way they run in the streets? Things like that only made it funnier to me. Will read you review.

      • I agree. The good thing about movies is that they can be subjective.
        As I said, I didn’t hate it, but I know it could have been soooo much better.
        Taking the p**s off terrorists is absolutely fine, but the way they did it was a bit too cheap (and easy) for my taste, and in the end I found it all quite predictable and superficial. That’s all.
        However I am very pleased somebody actually did a film like this.

  2. Yes, there are always movies that one person will love and a big number of people don’t. I have some of those movies as well, you might call them guilty pleasures, knowing that other people don’t like the movie, but you can’t get enough of them. A good example for me is Kung Pow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.